What the Glow Bug is listening to: M.I.A – Jimmy

21 Jul

This week the Glowbug features Jimmy by eclectic agitator pop/rap artist Mathangi “Maya” Arulpragasam better known as M.I.A. The track Jimmy comes  from her second album Kala.

Miss Glow Bug says:

I stumbled across this track on one of my mum’s CD mixes for Aunty Lucy. Yes mum shouldn’t really let me listen to lyrics that talk about going on a genocide tour, but   these electronic beats united with sweet sampling and childlike raucousness is soooo addictive. I have to dance in my cot every two hours each night… it’s just that good. Sadly mum and dad don’t really get it.

Upon writing this review I listened to this over track ten times in the car on the way to and from day-care. I wish my day-care would include Jimmy on their playlist. I have given a copy to my G’ma so she can enjoy this song again and again too.

Mum finally let me watch the video clip this morning and it’s everything I wanted it to be… A beautiful blinging Bollywood princess donned in colourful lycra flaunting her many bangin’ moves.

Not only is this track hip, M.I.A named this album after her mum so she must be a nice lady. I am not surprised that Time magazine named her as one of the worlds 100 most influential people in 2010. I do have to say that an inclusion of monkeys would have created superior clip. However, I won’t let that stop me calling out in the daily commute…

More Jimmy! More Jimmy, more again… OK!!!

M.I.A. – Jimmy Lyrics

Jimmy gone M.I.A.
Come back Jimmy

When you go Rwanda Congo
Take me on a genocide tour
Take me on a truck to Darfur
Take me where you would go
Got static on ya satellite phone
Gotta get you safe at home
Gotta get you somewhere warm
So you get me all alone

Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)

Time and time and time and time again
You keep pushing that button but I don’t know what you’re sayin’
You hit me on AIM, tryin’ to flip me on some game
Are you coming, are you going, are you leaving, are you staying?

You tell me that you’re busy
Your lovin makes me crazy
I know that you hear me
Start actin like you want me!

You tell me that you’re busy
Your lovin makes me crazy
I know that you hear me
Start actin like you want me!

Time and time and time and time again
You keep pushing me, what are you sayin?
You hit me on AIM, tryin’ to flip me on some game
But I still don’t know what you’re sayin

You tell me that you’re busy
Your lovin makes me crazy
I know that you hear me
Start actin like you want me!

You tell me that you’re busy
Your lovin makes me crazy
I know that you hear me
Start actin like you want me!

Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)
Jimmy! (Adja)

3 Responses to “What the Glow Bug is listening to: M.I.A – Jimmy”

  1. Sarah Woodhouse July 22, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    I love that stage of the “upside down glasses” look

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A pervy old lady’s Word on the Web? « daisyandzelda - July 27, 2012

    […] Glowbug is doing such a great job on keeping us abreast on the latest in toddler-dom.  Thought I’d cover the […]

  2. What the Glow Bug is listening to: Rock-A-Bye Your Bear « daisyandzelda - July 28, 2012

    […] Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a comment